How I’ve been working on fixing life: Part 1

I’m sure there’ll be more parts to come so here’s just a few things I’ve been doing to improve/fix my not-so-perfect life. This started after I met up with my best friend and told her the same thing I told my family. We made a list of goals for each other with each other for February to April and a pact to check-in with each other after each month. These goals really helped me to kind of take a look at what I wanted to work on and do for the near future.

The top goal on my list was exercise. I had been having no exercise other than the occasional 20 min walk home from the bus stop since I graduated from high school and no longer had PE class. It was also something that is recommended for overall health (no duh) and would help my mental conditions and hopefully my chronic headaches. We always talk about how 30 min 5x/week is the recommended amount of exercise in school as well. Baby steps. That’s been my favourite phrase. Obviously I would not be able to suddenly become an athlete and will find it hard to complete that amount of exercise. We always learn to recommend taking slow steps towards goals. So my goal was 30 min of exercise 3x/week. And I’m elated to say that I’ve met my goal and even surpassed it, doing 30 min of cardio and 15 min of strength training 3x/week. The next step is to do it 4x/week so hopefully I’ll be able to continue and carry it out this month!

Another important goal was to improve my sleep patterns and not sleep so late. I’ve been using zoplicone pretty frequently especially around periods of stress and anxiety. And yet, sometimes I would still have trouble sleeping even if my eyes won’t open anymore and I can’t walk straight. My original goal was to sleep before 12, which obviously didn’t work out. I still tried to sleep earlier, taking a pill so that I’d start feeling drowsy 30 min later and hope I can fall asleep. But school’s been so tiring and stressful with long days that naps were inevitable and thus threw off my attempt to fix my sleep schedule. I’d say that I’m aiming to be in bed before 1 am now which seems to be a reasonable time considering that I used to sleep at 2 or 3 am regularly.

Other goals included not buying anything online (I have received way too much packages and used much more money) and writing up a bucket list of things I want to do in life. Thinking about the near future (and far) in this way has really helped. I’m pretty satisfied with February, and little steps with success lets me know that I CAN do this. It wasn’t easy, but no pain no gain! It’s time to gear up for exams with lab exam starting next week and it’ll be hard to keep it up but let’s give it a try. Cuz I looveee challenges…

(PS good news, I passed my supplemental! With a pretty good mark too! So I have officially passed 2.5 years of pharmacy. I’m very grateful for the support and comments I received during that time! Now I’m even more motivated to push on and climb uphill to finish it off.)

Leave a Reply

