Celebration of Light 2014

One little light in a dark black room can illuminate the whole room. Light is amazing isn’t it. That’s probably why we have the Celebration of Light with fireworks yearly. I can’t remember when I started going to watch the fireworks with my family…I remember the days we’d go to down to the beach or someplace with a lot of people. My brother would sit in one stroller, I in the other. My parents would cover our ears with their hands because the resounding “boom”s were so loud. And we’d watch lights shoot up into the sky. Mesmerized. We would still watch them when we got older, but no longer at the main sites. We’d drive to places where we could still see them, places where others like us gathered. Those with kids that could run around and get lost in crowds. Then as we got older, I lost the appreciation for them. I would just stay at home at times instead of joining them. This year, however, after all that’s happened, I went along with them for all three days, thinking instead of how this would just be yet another beautiful memory to have together. With the sun setting so late, the sky turned from dark blue to black while they went on. I didn’t quite like the USA’s performance as I found the music selection and the accompanying fireworks boring to be honest. However, France’s performance was amazing. My brother loves the French language and really enjoyed the music choice. It was more exciting. Tonight’s Japan performance was my favourite. Although there weren’t lyrics, it was epic. That’s the one word my brother came up with and the only word I think I could describe it properly with. The instrumental music, the story that came through with the fireworks, was breathtaking. We watched it from afar in a higher ground residential area but it still felt like watching a movie accompanying the songs.

Fireworks. Seen in concerts, celebrations, on Halloween, at get-togethers; a symbol of happiness. At the Celebration of Light, crowds gather to watch it, filling beaches and gatherings. Just what about an explosion of light makes it so mesmerizing? Maybe it’s exactly that. It’s like a release of light into the dark, seeing it shine so brightly against the black sky. It’s evolved into an art. Accompanied with music and set with a choreography, it’s a display. And when I texted a friend who was also watching the fireworks somewhere else, it felt like a connection. Watching the same fireworks from different places, experiencing it together while being apart. It’s funny how fireworks can bring people together. It’s an explosion of light, something scary. But it’s also exciting, fun, and beautiful. A statement for all to see. I can’t wait until next year’s Celebration of Light. My appreciation and enjoyment of fireworks has definitely returned.

Leave a Reply

