Therapeutic felting

So recently I’ve been under a lot of stress, as always. I’ve just finished a week where I had 3 days of exams for my lab courses for which I was surprisingly calm about. They didn’t turn out so bad. However, I was tired. I would take a naps (not just one!) everyday whenever I could. My mind and body was exhausted from my stressing and staying up late. I needed something to get out the stress from my body. So yesterday, while watching goofy YouTube videos with my mom during lunch, I made yet another “felt thing” or whatever they are called.

Felting. Is. Amazing. For stress release.  End of story. My friends say it’s probably because I have violent tendencies (well I do tend to smack people a lot I guess…but not on their face!) but I believe that it’ll work for even the gentlest person I know. All you need to do for felting is to stab a needle over and over again into a piece of wool felt while shaping it and lo and behold, a creation appears. I don’t think of violent things when I felt. It’s just like running and feeling the stress dissipate into the environment, leaving my body, but without all the sweat and fatigue after. I first found out about felting while watching Bubzbeauty’s YouTube videos. She made felt replicas of her dogs and it was adorable. I did think that felt creations were a bit messy and furry to make something cute out of. That must’ve been a year ago when I first saw it. I never thought much about it until I went to a local Daiso and saw a felting kit for making a bear keychain. So I decided, why not try it? It was only two bucks. I tried it and the next time I went to Daiso, I had to get extra wool felt to make more. Not only is the result adorably cute, (although it’s a bit hard to mold minor details and stab them into place) but oh does it feel good to stab something over and over again to make it into something cute! Below are the “results” of my stress! I’m probably going to end up with a lot more felt creatures/creations before this final exam period is over…

made from a kit

made from a kit

Attempt #1 felting without instructions – success!

Attempt #2 – my funny looking way-too-fat cow

Attempt #3 - my bro's reaction: How much did you buy that for?

Attempt #3 – my bro’s reaction: How much did you buy that for?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

