Patience. Patience. Patience….oh asdfghjkl.

So my old wonky HTC Desire is almost 3 years old and has been giving me quite some trouble. Let’s face it..it’s old. My SIM contacts multiply randomly and can’t be deleted, the sound control sometimes doesn’t work, and it pops up “low on storage space” which disappears soon after. Thankfully, as it is reaching 3 years old, it also means that my 3 year contract is almost over! However, almost still means a month. Doesn’t sound too bad…time flies? BUT. It’s a long time when I have a new iPhone 5s sitting there waiting to be activated that I just picked up!! I can’t use it even for non-phone functions without activating it but neither do my parents want to pay a $100 bill for the two phone plans. So…I have to wait until the end of December (until two weeks after I’m done finals!!) to activate and enjoy my new phone. Ahhh I’m so tempted to just fork out $50 to use it right now. But it’s not necessary. And as a mature(ing) young adult, I can be patient. The old phone is still usable. I sound like a whiny kid wanting to play with a new toy I know. But I’m sure people at all ages would feel the same way, having something so accessible but unable to touch it. Imagine you just bought your favourite candy and it’s in your hand, but because you’re on a health diet, you have to wait until a month later to eat it. Ohh just thinking about it is hard! Or maybe I’m just an impatient person…

I’ve never had much patience. I guess it originates from my personality of doing things quickly. I want to get things over with, and happen to be able to work quickly or find ways to do things quickly so that it’s done and over with. When I talk, my tongue can barely catch up to the racing speed of my thoughts and I tend to stutter or slur my words. I love drinking cold liquids in big gulps and feeling the “whoosh” of the cold mouthful entering my stomach. I also happen to catch on things quickly and learn quickly. Many times, I can get frustrated or impatient when people are not as quick as I would like them to be; in learning something, in doing something, or whatever can be done quicker. I’m still learning patience. Working with kids really helped since you can’t get mad at kids for not understanding something at a faster speed…they’re too cute! But seriously, the volunteering I did with kids and seniors really helped me in improving my patience when dealing with people who may not be on the same tempo as me and that require some extra help. Of course, I’ve still got lots to learn, and I believe that all the little lessons of patience (waiting to use the iPhone) will help me mature and become the best person I can be in the future towards the people around me.

However, I really need to slow down and not just for the people to catch up after my tornado, but also for my own good. Rushing through things, I tend to finish quickly, but also have a lot of careless mistakes. That has happened more than enough times on tests especially! I also sometimes miss the little moments in life that could have been appreciated. I just learned two years ago in the summer how taking a walk and just looking around can be so therapeutic. The trees, the sky, the birds…it’s beautiful. Walking isn’t only for reaching the destination as quickly as possible like it used to be. I’m also very unobservational because of this. I don’t see what other people see. I’m very selective in my sight and hearing, good for school and studying, but not for noticing things that can make a difference. I selectively care for the people that are important to me, but I have now realized that I should be more observant to everyone around me. Noticing their feelings, their reactions, their responses, and allowing myself to make a positive difference in it. Rushing on a Friday evening to London Drugs to buy earphones before meeting up with my friends, I happened to notice a homeless man sitting in the cold. He had a sign that had something along the lines of “appreciate anything to help in the cold, awaiting shoulder surgery” and he had his hands shoved between his knees to try to keep them warm. This is the first time I actually read the sign a homeless man held up. My heart went out to him in the cold weather and I bought him a pair of mittens from London Drugs while I was there. Being patient, taking the time to help others in your rush or goals, patience isn’t just about waiting for something. It’s taking a detour that might slow you down but benefit others and benefit yourself too. Giving will give yourself a feeling that is just as good if not better as receiving!

Leave a Reply

