The Notebook

I watched The Notebook tonight and I really shouldn’t have. I’m a sucker for romantic movies, but I cry very easily. Not a good combination when I’m trying to do homework and last thing I want to do is have all these emotions and memories on my mind. The Notebook is nothing like my life, but in some way, it seems so similar. My first love was something like Noah and Allie’s. He was a total opposite, we fought a lot, and he taught me how to enjoy life. And sadly, my parents hated him. He was also quiet while I was a chatterbox, always seeming to talk too much. We talked on the phone a lot, but it was more me talking, and he listening. When he said something, it usually meant a lot. When he gets mad and leaves with a huge paragraph before his goodnight, then I know he’s upset. Otherwise, he rarely showed it. He’d do anything to make me happy. And when he said I love you for the first time, it really was ‘something special’. When he went on vacation, there was an unspoken “end” to our relationship, and we parted. I haven’t had a decent conversation with him since. That’s the worst. And it’s so hard to forget your first love. Everything he did for me, everything he taught me…everything we experienced together. I don’t know if we’ll end up together like they found their way back together or if I’ll end up with someone else. But I can say that I’ve learned so much from this. I would probably have done some things another way, but we can’t rewrite history. No matter how hard I wish I can! We just have to learn from it and move on. Sorry about all this mushy stuff, my cousin’s wedding yesterday probably contributes to it as well. She knew he was “the one” because he made her a better person. He made me a better person, and what if he was the one? But what if he wasn’t?? Oh the annoying “joys” of youth. I’ll just ponder about this and live life to its fullest. Meet new people, enjoy life, learn, and keep all the memories in just another chapter of my life. I don’t believe in forgetting those memories nor do I believe in staying in them. It’s hard, but life’s hard! Watching The Notebook, I can only hope that I’ll find a love as strong and as magical as Noah and Allie’s. One that defies all odds.

Leave a Reply

